• Saturday, May 18, 2024


Kohli takes over as India limited-overs captain

Virat Kohli led from the front once again.


Virat Kohli has taken over from Mahendra Singh Dhoni as India’s limited-overs captain, becoming his country’s skipper in all three formats of the game, the Board of Control for Cricket in India said on Friday (6).

Kohli’s first assignment as captain of the limited-overs squads will be three one-dayers and three Twenty20 Internationals against England beginning on Jan. 15.

Dhoni has been named as wicketkeeper in both the one-day and Twenty20 squads.

Kohli, 28, assumed the test captaincy following Dhoni’s retirement from the longest format of the game in late 2014.

India ODI squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Lokesh Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadav, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Jaspreet Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav.

India Twenty20 squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Mahendra Singh DDhoni (wicketkeeper), Mandeep Singh, Lokesh Rahul, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jaspreet Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra.


Related Stories